10 SPORTS: Badminton

Badminton is one of the racket sports played using a racket and shuttlecock across a net. The history of badminton traced back to 1870s. It was evolved from the earlier game of battledore (racket) and shuttlecock. Initially, the game was named Poona or Poonah, a garrison town in India where it was developed among expatriate officers in British India. Subsequently, the “badminton” name derives from the Duke of Beaufort’s Badminton House in Gloucestershire, with unclear reason. The first rule for the game was drawn up in 1873. The British officers subsequently returned home by 1875 and set up a badminton club in Folkestone. The game was initially played outdoor until 1893 when The Badminton Association of England (BAE) published the new rules and launched the game indoor at Portsmouth. All England Open Badminton Championships is the first badminton competition organised by BAE in 1899.

In 1934, the International Badminton Federation, now known as the Badminton World Federation (BWF), was founded by mainly European countries such as England, Scotland, Wales, Canada, Denmark, France, Ireland, Netherlands and New Zealand. BWF is the international governing body responsible for the regulations of the tournaments. Of note, the BWF headquarter is currently based in Kuala Lumpur. Examples of few prestigious badminton international tournaments are Thomas (since 1948) & Uber Cup (since 1956), Sudirman Cup (since 1989), BWF World Championship (since 1977), All England Championship (since 1899) and Summer Olympic games which become an official sport since 1992 in Barcelona. Although initiated in England, men’s badminton competition has been dominated in Europe by Denmark and in Asia by Indonesia, Malaysia, China, Japan, India, South Korea and Chinese Taipei. The game has also become a popular backyard sport in the USA.

Badminton is one of the famous sports in Malaysia besides Sepak Takraw, Football, Rugby and Field Hockey. Badminton Association of Malaysia (BAM) is the governing body of badminton and it’s training in our country. Malaysia has won beautifully in international badminton tournaments titles such as Thomas Cup (1949, 1952, 1955, 1967, 1992), All England Championship (1950-1957, 1959, 1965-66, 1971, 1982, 2003, 2007, 2010-11, 2014, 2017, 2021) and Olympic Silver (2008, 2012, 2016) & Olympic Bronze (1992, 1996, 2020).

Below are few of my personal collections of Badminton first day covers from various countries.

1) MALAYSIA (Thomas Cup & Uber Cup)

1992 JULY 25th: FDC with 2v stamps
1992 JULY 25th: FDC with MS
2000 MAY 11 Composite Thomas/Uber Cup KL 2000 FDC with KAJANG cancellation

2) INDONESIA (Thomas Cup & Uber Cup, Sudirman Cup)

1958 AUGUST 15TH: FDC with 3v stamps. The world’s first badminton stamp issue.
1961 JUNE 1st: FDC with 3v stamps
1964 AUGUST 15th: FDC with 3v stamps
1967 MAY 31st: FDC with 2v stamps
1973 JANUARY 2nd: FDC with 3v stamps
1976 JANUARY 31st: FDC with 3v stamps
1979 FEBRUARY 24th: FDC with 3v stamps
1981 MAY 22nd: FDC with 1v stamp
1982 MAY 19th: FDC with 1v stamp
1986 APRIL 22nd: FDC with 2v stamps
1989 JULY 3rd: FDC with 1v stamp – The first Sudirman Cup tournament held in Jakarta,Indonesia and won by Indonesia team.
This is the only Sudirman Cup stamp I could find so far.
1994 June 22nd: FDC with 2v stamps

3) JAPAN (Badminton Sports)

1958 OCTOBER 19th: FDC with 2v stamps. The world’s second badminton stamp.
1981 OCTOBER 13th: FDC with 1v stamp

For those of you interested in badminton stamps of various country, I found an article on it but it is written in Chinese:-




Malaysia Boleh!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: